Mobile Databases
PUBLIC ART ARCHIVE
The Public Art Archive is a growing database and mobile website of completed public artworks from around the world. The Public Art Archive project is a series of focused efforts to increase the visibility of public artworks in communities through education and engagement initiatives. Go to the blog to learn about these projects.
The Archive houses tens of thousands of public artwork records in a single, centrally located database, making these works easily accessible to all audiences, including researchers, authors, academics, policy-makers, tourists, artists, administrators, and the general public. It includes comprehensive data and rich media, to allow collection stewards to share their artworks with new, broader audiences; to help explorers find information about public art in their world; and to aid in the sharing of best practices in public art for researchers and stakeholders.
publicartarchive.org
Creative Commons
What is the Creative Commons? It's a project that aims to allow people to freely access and reuse creative works, including images and videos. Creative Commons produces a set of copyright licenses which let you know how you can use a work within guidelines set by its creator. You can read more about Creative Commons on their site.
When reusing anyone's work, whether you found it through one of the links below, Google, or ARTstor, be sure to give proper credit to the creator.
-
Wikimedia Commons
All of the images used on Wikipedia—and many more—are stored in Commons & available under open licenses.- Crystal Clear Icons : Icon collection in the Wikimedia Commons.
- Tango Icons : Icon collection in the Wikimedia Commons.
- Behold : Visual search of Flickr photographs. Uses computer vision to recognize visual content, rather than relying on text tags. Limit to "free to use" or "free to modify."
- Compfight: Enhanced search of Flickr content. Limit to Creative Commons.
- FlickrStorm : Search overlay to Flickr. Retrieves more images by using related tags. Select "Advanced" to limit to Creative Commons content.
- Wylio: Searches only Creative Commons content in Flickr. Additional tools for blogs and websites, including resizing tool, photo credit builder, and code generator.
Creative Commons The organization behind the Creative Commons licenses also provides their own list of search engines which support finding media under the CC licenses.
Open Access Images
Open Access Images
Images from sources on this page are available for use on the open web. You are free to use these images in multimedia projects, websites, blogs, portfolios, etc, that are open and available to the public. When you use these images, you do not need to restrict access to your class or academic environment.
Open Access Images from Museum Collections
Los Angeles County Museum of Art
The Metropolitan Museum of Art
British Library Catalogue of Illuminated Manuscripts
Open Access Images from Library Collections
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Digital Public Library of America
National Library of the Netherlands
San Jose State University World Images
Google Image Searches
Cosmic Jellyfish Google Doodle by MrVoynich
By using "Advanced Image Search" you can limit your Google Image search results by license. This way Google will only retreive images that are availabe for you to either post, alter or use commercially.
You filter your Google Image search 1 of 2 ways:
1. When you perform a search in Google Image, use the tool bar to select "Search Tools" ; then select "Usage Rights"
or
2. If you start from the "Advanced Image Search" page, under the "Narrow your results by..." section choose the drop down bar for "Usage Rights"
Usage Rights will allow you to select:
- free to use or share
- free to use or share--even commercially
- free to use, share or modify
- free to use, share or modify--even commercially
