Visual Resources: Using ARTstor

ARTstor contains nearly 1.4 million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Most (but not all!) of ARTstor's images are of archival or museum materials.

• ARTstor Help
• ARTstor Videos
• ARTstor Blog

ARTstor Systems Requirements

• OIV System Requirements
• ARTstor Digital Library Requirements
• Enable your browser's pop-up windows for ARTstor 

Image Groups

The image group utility within the Artstor Digital Library allows you to gather, organize, share, review, edit, print, or present your chosen images. Image groups are accessible from anywhere you can log in to the Artstor Digital Library.

Image Group Help

• Make an image group
• Save an image group
• Open an image group
• Edit an image group
• Add images to an image group
• Sort images in an image group
• Rename an image group
• Delete an image group
• Export image group to PowerPoint
• Download image group as zip file (JPGs)

ARTstor's OIV (Offline Image Viewer)

OIV is an offline software developed by ARTstor to meet the demands of presenting high-quality digital images for teaching and learning. Use OIV as an image-friendly alternative to other presentations tool, such as PowerPoint and Keynote.

OIV Help

• Install OIV
• Import images into OIV
• Organize images with OIV
• Create slides in OIV
• Present images with OIV
• Save and share OIV presentations
• User preferences for OIV interface

The first step to export citations is to generate, or 'save,' them. You can then export selected image citations or an entire image group’s citation, to be saved outside of ARTstor for future use.

To begin, select individual images with a single click. In the ARTstor navigation bar, clickTools > Save citations for selected images. This option is also available from the right- (or Control-) click shortcut menu. 

-OR-

Open an image group and in the ARTstor navigation bar click Tools > Save citations for image group. This option is also available from the right- (or Control-) click shortcut menu.

A confirmation message appears confirming the citations were saved. To review what you’ve selected, click Tools > View and export citations. A new browser window will open displaying your saved citations as well as image thumbnails. Select the images you would like to export as bibliographic citations by checking the box above each image.

At the top of the Saved citations page you have four export/ save options:

• Email citations
• Export to EndNote, ProCite, or Reference Manager
• Export to RefWorks
• View and save citations

ARTstor is a not-for-profit high quality arts and humanities image database subscription service that provides over 1.6 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. ARTstor also provides with a range of tools to view, present, and manage high quality images for research and educational purposes. This digital image library offers a wide spectrum of images needed for interdisciplinary teaching and research, including contributions from the leading museums, photo archives, libraries, scholars, photographers, artists, and artists’ estates.

ARTstor Features:

Images for Academic Publishing (IAP) program makes available publication-quality images for use in scholarly publications free of charge. Scholars at participating ARTstor institutions are able to access IAP images through the ARTstor Digital Library.To find images in ARTstor for use in scholarly publications use the search term "IAP" or look for the symbol IAP on your ARTstor result screen.

Subject Guides highlight relevant collections, unique interdisciplinary content, search strategies, and search terms that greatly aid discoverability across disciplines in the Digital Library. The subject guides cover twenty-two subject areas inlcuding: African and African American Studies; Architecture and the Built Environment; Design; Decorative Arts; Fashion and Costume; Maps and Geography; Photography; Theater and Dance; and Women's Studies.

User Accounts through ARTstor enable you to:

• Save images and related data to USB or hard drive
• Create groups of images for later retrieval and presentation
• Upload personal images and sound files to the ARTstor platform
• Export images and image groups to Artstor's Offline Image Viewer (OIV) presentation tool
• Save citations for images or image groups, and email or print these, as well as export them directly into EndNote, ProCite, RefWorks, Reference Manager, or a text file

Artstor and the California College of the Arts are collaborating to share approximately 6,000 images from the CCA Contemporary Art Project and 2,800 images from the CAPP Street Project Archive. 

The CCA Contemporary Art Project is composed of images of current or recently-shown work by emerging and established artists. The Capp Street Project Archive documents the process, intention, and realization of installations and temporary projects sponsored by the Capp Street Project since 1983.

CCA Libraries has also created ARTstor folders that include faculty and student work, special collections and archival material, in addition to educational resources.

To access the CCA collections avialable through ARTstor go to the "Shared Shelf Institutional Collections" folders on the homepage.

ARTstor now has mobile access for your smart phone or iPad. ARTstor is now accessible to registered users and users who are on-site at their licensed institution on compatible mobile operating systems. The mobile site for Apple devices and mobile app for Android devices allows users to search, browse, and view previously created image groups.