CCA Library Databases
ARTstor » A digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for teaching and research. The collections include contributions from international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists -- including CCA.
Capp Street Project Archive » find images documenting installations and temporary projects sponsored by the Capp Street Project since 1983
CCA Images and Archives » search over 3,500 digital images from CCA's image and archive collections
Google Art Project
Uffizi Gallery in Florence, Italy -- with a view on Botticelli’s ‘The Birth of Venus’
Google's Art Project provides extremely high resolution images from 155 different institutions in over 40 countries. Contributors include: Gemaldegalerie, Berlin; National Gallery, London; Museum of Modern Art, New York; Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam; Uffizi, Florence and many more. Downloads are not available, but images can be used from within the site. The user can also create personal galleries from within the site.
For information on how to use the Google Image Project site, see their instructional YouTube video:
ARTstor Mobile
ARTstor now has mobile access for your smart phone or iPad. ARTstor is now accessible to registered users and users who are on-site at their licensed institution on compatible mobile operating systems. The mobile site for Apple devices and mobile app for Android devices allows users to search, browse, and view previously created image groups.
Usage Rights
This list includes sources that provide images for a wide range of uses, including academic and scholarly use, as well as images suitable for commercial publication. Each collection has different policies regarding the use of images in educational, academic and commercial contexts. Users must clear rights for images under copyright--even for non-commerical usage. Images in the public domain do not require clearance or permission, although you may prefer to work through image providers and agencies (e.g., the Artists Rights Society [ARS]) in order to purchase or license high-quality reproductions of public-domain works.
Please remember...
- Make sure you always read and comply with the use restrictions for specific image sources.
- Always cite images someone else created.
- Images under copyright should not be sold or used in commercial products or for commercial purposes unless you have a licensing contract.
Museum Collections
Getty Open Content Program Free, Unrestricted Use; Open Access; Artworks in the Public Domain
Los Angeles County Museum of Art Free, Unrestricted Use; Open Access; Artworks in the Public Domain
National Gallery of Art Free, Unrestricted Use; Open Access; Artworks in the Public Domain
Walters Museum of Art Free, Unrestricted Use; Open Access; Artworks in the Public Domain
The Metropolitan Museum of Art Free for Scholarly Publication; Artworks in the Public Domain
Brooklyn Museum Free for Use in Education, Teaching, and Academic Study
Fee for Commercial Use
The Frick Collection Free for Use in Education, Teaching, and Academic Study
Philadelphia Museum of Art Free for Use in Education, Teaching, and Academic Study;
Fee for Scholarly Publications and Commercial Use
The Freer / Sackler Galleries Free for Use in Education, Teaching, and Academic Study;
Fee for Scholarly Publications and Commercial Use
Guggenheim Museum Free for Use in Education, Teaching, and Academic Study;
Fee for Scholarly Publications and Commercial Use
Museum of Fine Arts, Boston Free for Use in Education, Teaching, and Academic Study;
Fee for Scholarly Publications and Commercial Use
Museum of Modern Art, New York Free for Use in Education, Teaching, and Academic Study;
Fee for Scholarly Publications and Commercial Use
Smithsonian American Art Museum Free for Use in Education, Teaching, and Academic Study;
Fee for Scholarly Publications and Commercial Use
The British Museum Free for Use in Education, Teaching, and Academic Study;
Fee for Scholarly Publications and Commercial Use
Rijksmuseum Free, Unrestricted Use; Open Access
National Gallery of Denmark Free, Unrestricted Use; Open Access
The Hermitage Museum Free for Use in Education, Teaching, and Academic Study
The Prado Museum Free for Use in Education, Teaching, and Academic Study;
Free for Print-Based Scholarly Publications
Museum of New Zealand Free for Use in Education, Teaching, and Academic Study
Victoria and Albert Museum Free for Use in Education, Teaching, and Academic Study;
Free for Print-Based Scholarly Publications
The Tate Collection Free for Use in Education, Teaching, and Academic Study;
Fee for Scholarly Publications and Commercial Use
Musée du Louvre Free for Use in Education, Teaching, and Academic Study;
Fee for Scholarly Publications and Commercial Use
Library and Manuscript Collections
British Library Illuminated Manuscripts Free, Unrestricted Use; Artworks in the Public Domain
Library of Congress Digital Collections Free, Unrestricted Use; Artworks in the Public Domain
Digital Public Library of America Free, Unrestricted Use; Artworks in the Public Domain
HathiTrust Digital Library Free, Unrestricted Use; Artworks in the Public Domain
National Library of the Netherlands Free, Unrestricted Use; Artworks in the Public Domain
Yale University Free, Unrestricted Use; Artworks in the Public Domain
The Wellcome Library Free, Unrestricted Use; Open Access
World Images Kiosk
Free for Personal Use in Education, Teaching, and Academic Study;
Fee for Publication Use
The Huntington Library Free for Personal Use in Education, Teaching, and Academic Study;
Fee for Publication Use
New York Public Library Free for Personal Use in Education, Teaching, and Academic Study;
Fee for Publication Use
National Library of France Free for Personal Use in Education, Teaching, and Academic Study;
Fee for Publication Use; Fee for Commercial Use
Cultural Heritage Organzitions
Réunion des Musées Nationaux (France) Image Use Varies by Institution
Europeana Image Use Varies by Institution
Art Resource Image Use Varies by Institution
Commercial Image Databases
Alamy (UK) Fee-Based Stock Image Database
Alinari (Italy) Fee-Based Stock Image Database; Discount for Academic Publishing
Bridgeman Art Library Fee-Based Fine Arts Image Database
BPK (Germany) Fee-Based Fine Arts Image Database
Corbis Images Fee-Based Fine Arts, Photogrpahy and Stock Image Database
Getty Images Fee-Based Fine Arts, Photogrpahy and Stock Image Database
Scala (Italy) Fee-Based Fine Arts Image Database
