Archival Collections
- CCA / C Archive
Materials related to the history of the college. The archive consists of posters, postcards, catalogs, handbooks, newsletters, announcements, recorded lectures, audiovisual material, web screen shots, documentary photographs, press releases, memorabilia, promotional items, minutes, reports, correspondence, etc. - VAULT Institutional Repository
An institution-wide platform for publishing, viewing, accessing and archiving the college’s digital-based creative output, including text, still image, video and audio files. - Capp Street Project Archive
The Capp Street Project Archive documents the process, intention, and realization of installations and temporary projects sponsored by the Capp Street Project since 1983. - Joseph Sinel Collection
The Simpson Library houses a collection of work documenting Joseph C. Sinel's career in design. The "father of industrial design," Sinel was an instructor at California College of Arts & Crafts in the 1920s and again in 1949/1950, later receiving CCAC's honorary Doctor of Fine Arts degree. - Walter Landor CollectionWalter Landor taught at CCAC, and was the founder of Landor Associates, branding and graphic design firm in San Francisco. The collection includes photographs and packaging examples from his work spanning the 1950's through 1980's.
- Robert Sommer Mudflats CollectionCollection of photographs documenting the Emeryville Mudflats public sculptures from the 1960's to 1980's. CCAC faculty Everett Turner, Charles Gill, Robert Bechtle, Frances Moyer, Mel Henderson, Robert and Margaret Dhaemers first started the genre in 1960 on Bay Farm Island. In 1962 CCAC student John McCracken, inspired by the Bay Farm Island work, began making similar driftwood sculptures in Emeryville.
Faculty Development Collection
Faculty Development Catalog
- Faculty Development CollectionAlong with the creation of the Teaching Support Studio, the CCA libraries have created a Faculty Development Collection of books specific to issues of pedagogy and professional practice. Please stop in to the Meyer Library in Oakland to check them out.
- Diversity resources for the classroom and curriculumFor resources specifically related to diversity in the arts classroom, follow the link above. These titles are all available as part of the Faculty Development Collection.
Artists' Book Collection
- Artists' Book Collection
The Artists' Books Collection, split between both libraries, was developed to support study and teaching of bookworks as an art form.
The collection includes handmade books, published artists' books and special format exhibition catalogs, comics and zines. Titles are searchable in the catalog. - Artists' Books previews in VAULTPreviews are available for part of the collection in VAULT. Follow the link above, and log in to view them.
Small Press Traffic Collection
- Small Press Traffic CollectionA selection of over 1,100 contemporary books and journals from small independent publishers of literature and poetry. The collection is housed in Simpson Library, some items are available for check out.
Hamaguchi Study Print Collection
- Hamaguchi Study Print Collection
The Hamaguchi Study Print Collection consists of nearly 800 prints, selected for their pedagogical value in the study of printmaking, design, and history. Access to the print cabinets in Meyer (Oak) are available to faculty M-F 9-5 or by appointment.
Materials Library
- Materials Library
The CCA Materials Library comprises a physical and digital collection of materials, ranging from innovative materials developed through cutting edge technological advances, to materials used everyday by industry leaders. The collection allows for both intuitive, tactile browsing, and online searching through the materials database. Each material entry includes a physical sample linked to a catalog entry in the online database that can be searched by name, manufacturer, composition, form, production process, or property. The catalog entry provides information about the material's properties and applications, as well as a link to the manufacturer's website.
MUSE carts and science equipment in Simpson Library (SF)
With the support of a National Science Foundation grant, CCA has developed an innovative approach to support science education in the art and design studio. In 2015, the MUSE project, Mobile Units for Scientific Exploration, was installed in Simpson Library - a storage, display, and work site for the college’s science equipment collection. In 2022 the collection was moved to Hubbell Classroom 141. Please visit the library to ask about access.
MUSE is designed to specifically support CCA's science instructors with “kits” that are flexible enough to provide equipment, materials, and supplies that can expand students’ knowledge of physical and life sciences. The units are also available to any CCA faculty member or student who attends training workshops on their use.
The MUSE and library installation were designed by students in an upper-division Furniture Production class under the guidance of Russell Baldon (chair, CCA Furniture) and visiting professor Allan Wexler (Parsons the New School).
Object Collection
In collaboration with Mara Holt Skov, industrial design faculty, CCA libraries have assembled an Object Collection for use in the classroom. The intent is to create a collection of iconic objects representing a range of trends in design history, giving students an opportunity to study all the qualities of the objects: weight, materiality, ergonomic factors, etc.
The collection is still being developed. Currently there are two themed collections available for use:
Machine Art: based on the 1934 Machine Art exhibition at MoMA
This collection shows how industrially produced forms and materials have defined modern, machine age aesthetics. Items incude:
- Industrial units: machines and machine parts:
- Springs of various sizes
- Self-aligning ball bearings
- Lock Washers
- Spring Washers
- Saw blades
- Drill bits
- Pulley
- other hardware
- Scientific instruments:
- Vernier caliper
- Outside caliper
- Slide caliper
- Brass plumb bob
- Household and office equipment:
- Flush valve, Scovil Mfg. Co.
- Master lock padlock
- Kwikset hall and closet door knob
- Kitchenware:
- Stainless steel bowl
Blobjects: Based on the 2005 exhibition Blobjects & Beyond: The New Fluidity in Design at the San Jose Museum
Items include:
- Candeloo rechargeable Lamps, 2003
- iMac desktop mouse, ca. 1998
- Ty Nant Bottle, 2001
- Bulles d’Eclat, 2002
- Oliblocks, 2000
- Logitech Cordless MouseMan Optical, 1999
- Tooth Brush Handles, ca. 2004
- Orca Mini stapler, 2000
Games Collection
- Games Collection
In conjunction with the Animation Department, CCA libraries have built a collection of board games, available for checkout or use in Meyer Library.
