Insider's Guide to the CCA Libraries: What's in the Library?

The CCA Libraries have a collection of over 50,000 titles! The Simpson Library focuses its collection on Architecture, Design and Literary Studies, while the Meyer Library supports general studies and the Fine Arts. 

Search the collection in the » Library Catalog.

If you need demographic information, data-sets or access to Geographic Information Systems, the library can help you out! The CCA Libraries provides a number of tools to help you look for statistics and data for your research. Check out the library website for a list of reliable sources providing statistics and data in a range of subjects.

GIS resource guide here » GIS.

• Artists' Books

• The Artists' Books Collection, housed in Meyer Library, was developed to support study and teaching of bookworks as an art form. The collection is non-circulating and not browsable. Specific titles may be requested at the circulation desk.

• Capp St Project Archive

  The Capp Street Project Archive documents the process, intention, and realization of installations and temporary projects sponsored by the Capp Street Project since 1983. It is housed in Meyer Library (Oak), and available by appointment.

• Hamaguchi Study Print Collection

  The Hamaguchi Study Print Collection consists of nearly 800 prints, selected for their pedagogical value in the study of printmaking, design, and history. Access to the print cabinets in Meyer (Oak) are available to faculty M-F 9-5 or by appointment.

• Sinel Collection

  A catalog for Joseph C. Sinel's collection of work documenting his career in design. Materials are housed in the Simpson Library and may be used for advanced research, by appointment only.

• Small Press Traffic Archive

  A selection of over 1,350 contemporary books and journals from small independent publishers are housed in Simpson Library.

Select from over 3,000 DVDs and 1,000 VHS tapes at the CCA Libraries. Videos can be checked out for 2 days, or watch your film in the library using our video/disc players and head-phones!

Search through our video collection in the library catalog » Videos.

CCA Libraries is a member of ARTstor, which provides online access to over one-million images from collections around the world. The library has also digitized nearly 31,000 of its own images, which are hosted in ARTstor and in our own institutional repository.

For tips on searching, using and citing images check out our library guide here » Visual Resources. 

The CCA/C Archives are open by appointment only for scholarly research relating to the history of the college.

• CCA/C Archives Photos

  Photographs and other images from the CCA/C Archives that have been selected for digitization.

• CCA/C Archives

  Partial finding aid for the college archives as organized in Spring 2006.

• College Publications

  Digitized excerpts in pdf of sample periodicals published by the college.

• CCA Student Work

  CCA/C theses, are listed in the CCA Libraries online catalog.

VAULT: CCA's Institutional Repository

"An Institutional Repository is an online locus for collecting and preserving -- in digital form -- the intellectual output of an institution, particularly a research institution." (source: en.wikipedia.org)

Phase I. The library is organizing a collaborative inventory of images to record the creative ouput of CCA/C. Departments are encouraged to contribute digital copies of art and design work along with identifying data to our institutional repository, called CCA Vault.

For more information, contact Annemarie Haar, Library Director/Digital Archivist.

You can read articles in print, or online! The libraries receive over 140 current periodical subscriptions including industry, lifestyle and trade publications. CCA also subscribes to nearly 2,000 full-text online periodicals.

Get access all our databases here » A-Z list.

Books, videos and other materials used for course assignments can be placed on reserve by your instructor. Course reserve materials may be checked out at the Circulation Desk at both library locations. Remember to look up the location, call number and title of the item in the catalog before heading out to the library.

Search here » Course Reserves.

The Materials Library is both a physical and digital collection. The library includes a physical sample linked to a catalog entry in the online database that provides information about the material's properties and applications, as well as a link to the manufacturer's website. CCA also has a subscription to Material Connexion's database. Plus a research guide » Materials!