Instructional Services Librarian
Newspapers In Print
Current print newspapers available in the libraries:
- San Francisco Business Times (Simpson, SF)
- Guardian Weekly (Meyer, Oakland)
Additional Research Databases
Subscription and open access databases can be the best way to find full-text articles, reviews, and features from business and design magazines and journals. The following databases are useful for Design MBA research.
- JSTOR
Scholarly articles from hundreds of journals in a wide range of academic subjects, including art and design.
- Art & Architecture Source
Full-text articles and citations from journals and books related to fine, decorative, and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design.
- GreenFILE
Scholarly, government and general-interest titles on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
- Design and Applied Arts Index
Citations for research on design and craft.
Featured Print Magazines
The CCA Libraries subscribe to a large number of international journals and magazines that focus on business, design, and technology. Current issues can be checked out from the library. You can search our complete print and digital subscriptions using the Journal Finder.
AdbustersCCA holdings: 2011-present. Not-for-profit, ad-free magazine of cultural criticism.
Fast CompanyCCA holdings: Current two years. Back issues available in OmniFile database, 2001-present. Business, technology, and innovation.
MonocleCCA holdings: 2014-present. British magazine for entrepreneurs.
WiredCCA holdings: 1993-present. SF-based technology magazine with a business bent.
Business databases from the San Francisco Public Library
With a library card from the San Francisco Public Library, you can access a number of business databases, including:
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO) The world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
-
D&B Million Dollar Database Detailed industry information on approximately 1,600,000 U.S. and Canadian leading public and private businesses.
-
Gale Directory Library (Gale) Associations Unlimited is now a part of the Gale Directory Library. In addition to the Encyclopedia of Associations publications, this database includes the National Directory of Nonprofit Organizations. Use it to search, sort and export information from current directory editions. Multiple directories can be cross-searched. Or users can mine individual directories for the specific data they contain, such as financial information for companies, circulation figures for publications, and much more.
-
Gale Virtual Reference Library Business Collection (Gale) A collection of eBooks on the subject of business.
-
Mergent Online U.S. and international company financials, ratios, news, and annual reports.
-
Morningstar Access Morningstar financial data on stocks, funds and industries. You will also find analyst reports, portfolio screenings and other tools for making investment decisions.
-
Small Business Collection (Gale) A collection of academic, general, professional and trade publications, this compilation provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories. Users will find over 280 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.
-
Small Business Resource Center (Gale) Search this database to learn how to start, finance or manage your small business. Resources include sample business plans, how to guides, articles and websites.
-
Value Line Find the latest information and evaluations on stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities.
