Instructional Services Librarian
Avery Index Quick Guide
- Avery Index Quick GuideOne-page handout with tips and strategies for using the Avery Index.
Print Magazines
CCA Libraries subscribe to a large number of international journals and magazines in interior design and architecture. Current issues can be checked out from the library. Archived issues are available for in-library use only. You can check our complete print and online subscriptions using the Journal Finder.
Featured Magazines
DwellCCA holdings: 2000-present. Glossy trend-setting interior design magazine based in San Francisco.Interior Design
CCA holdings: 1977-present. An essential industry magazine that has been in print for over 85 years.
Frame: The International Review of Interior Architecture and DesignCCA holdings: 2011-present. Influential Dutch design magazine.
DomusCCA holdings: 1955-present. Italian architecture and design magazine, published in both English and Italian.
VolumeCCA holdings: 2005-present. Architecture and design magazine co-founded by Rem Koolhaas. Each quarterly issue focuses on a single topic.
The Avery Index
Finding Articles Online
CCA Libraries subscribe to the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, which is the national standard for architectural research, with title, author, and abstract information for thousands of articles published on architecture and design, spanning from the 18th century to the present day, updated weekly. The Avery Index does not provide full-text article access but can link users to full-text content from other databases.
In addition to articles, the Avery Index includes publication information for diagrams, drawings, architect obituaries, and many other valuable information sources.
The Avery Index can be cross-searched with Art & Architecture Source to provide more full-text article coverage, and many of the print journals cited in the Avery Index can be found in CCA's Simpson Library.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
A comprehensive index of citations from articles in architecture and design journals and magazines, useful for finding content both online and in print.
Additional Research Databases
Subscription and open access databases can be the best way to find full-text articles, reviews, and features from interior design magazines and journals. The following databases are useful for interior design research.
- JSTOR
Scholarly articles from hundreds of journals in a wide range of academic subjects, including art and design.
- Art & Architecture Source
Full-text articles and citations from journals and books related to fine, decorative, and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design.
- GreenFILE
Scholarly, government and general-interest titles on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
