- Using Archives: A Guide to Effective ResearchThe Society of American Archivists' PDF guide to archival research.
- Glossary of Archival and Records TerminologyThe SAA's PDF glossary of archival language.
Helpful Terms
The following specialized terms are used extensively in archival practices.
- Finding Aid: A text document providing a description of the contents of an archival collection. Many archives have made finding aids for their collections available online.
- Manuscript: Handwritten or typed unpublished document(s) or drafts of a work later published. Also refers to hand-written books produced prior to the printing press.
- Microfilm or Microfiche: Transparent film with highly reduced copies of documents, in rolls, sheets (fiche), or plates. Requires magnification or microfim reader to view.
- Papers or personal papers: Collection of personal or family documents; sometimes used generically to refer to an entire collection in a variety of formats relating to an individual or family.
- Special Collections: Libraries, archives, and museums use this term to denote specific, subject-focused collections that include rare or valuable materials. While institutional rules vary, most special collections are only available by appointment or under staff supervision.
Books and Scholars' Possessions [ten-panel folding screen, Korea], early 20th century, ink and color on silk, 19" x 180", Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York.
Introduction
Archives are organizations dedicated to preserving the documentary heritage of a particular subject of interest by collecting the permanently valuable records—such as letters, reports, accounts, minute books, draft and final manuscripts, personal papers, and photographs—of people, businesses, and government. These materials are the documentary evidence of past events.
This guide includes a list of archives in the San Francisco Bay Area as well as links to digital archives, a glossary of terms, and information on the CCA/C Archives.
Archives vs. Libraries
It's valuable to understand the distinction between libraries and archives. Libraries typically collect published print and online materials in the form of books, journals, and other media. Most items collected in archives are unique, unpublished content. However, many archives are contained inside libraries (the SF History Center is part of the San Francisco Public Library), include the word library in their name (UC Berkeley's Bancroft Library is the largest archive in California), or are jointly operated as a library (SFMOMA's Library & Archives).
Portions of the above text have been adapted from the Society of American Archivist's webpage "What Are Archives?".
Getting Started
Starting Archival Research Online
Most archival collections comprise of print documents that need to be viewed in person. However, it is possible to start your archival research online. There are an increasing number of digitized archival collections, as well as many different search tools designed to help you discover print collections and finding aids, documents that describe the contents of archival collections. By examining finding aids in advance, you can decide if a particular archive is worth your visit.
The Online Archive of California and Calisphere
The OAC and Calisphere are sibling websites. The Online Archive of California collects finding aids and other materials to help you discover archival collections around the state. Calisphere is a digital archive that combines content from dozens of California institutions. Both are initiatives managed by the California Digital Library in the Office of the Chancellor of the University of California.
- Online Archive of CaliforniaDetailed descriptions of archival collections held in California libraries, museums, and archives, including finding aids and (limited) digitized content.
- CalisphereCalisphere is a gateway to digital collections from California's libraries, archives, and museums. Contains more than 850,000 images, texts, and recordings.
ArchiveGrid and the Digital Public Library of America
ArchiveGrid and the DPLA are national initiatives to aid researchers in discovering archival and special collections.
- ArchiveGridArchiveGrid is a search tool for discovering the locations of archival materials and finding aids from over 1,000 different participating archive, library, and museum collections. Note that many smaller, independent archives are not represented in ArchiveGrid search results.
- Digital Public Library of AmericaSearch platform that contains digitized texts, images, and media from thousands of libraries, archives, and museums around the United States.
The CCA/C Archives are in Meyer Library on the Oakland Campus. The CCA/C Archives are open by appointment for scholarly research relating to the history of the college. A limited number of historic photographs from the CCA/C Archives have been digitized and are available to the public online. Additional archival collections held by the CCA Libraries include the Capp Street Project Archive, the Robert Sommer Mudflats Collection, and the Joseph C. Sinel Collection.
- CCA Libraries ArchivesInformation about archival collections in the CCA Libraries, including the CCA/C Archives.
- Digital content from the CCA/C ArchivesMaterials from the CCA/C Archives that have been selected for digitization.
Bay Area Archives
Bay Area Archives and Archival Collections
The following is a partial list of archival institutions located in the San Francisco Bay Area.
- African American Museum & LibraryThe African American Museum and Library at Oakland is dedicated to the discovery, preservation, interpretation and sharing of historical and cultural experiences of African Americans in California and the West for present and future generations.
- Bancroft LibraryThe primary archive and special collections library at UC Berkeley, and one of the largest archival institutions in the world.
- Bay Area Lesbian History Archives ProjectThe Bay Area Lesbian History Archives Project will create a sustainable non-profit, community-run archival institution to preserve lesbian history in the Greater San Francisco Bay Area. By gathering and preserving historical material, the archives will maintain lesbian visibility, become a living history, and continue the tradition of community building.
- Bay Area Radio MuseumOnline recordings of Bay Area radio programming.
- Bay Area Television ArchiveFeatures local newsfilm, documentaries and programs donated to San Francisco State's J. Paul Leonard Library by broadcasters and private individuals, to be preserved as an academic resource.
- California Academy of Sciences Research LibraryThe research library at the California Academy of Sciences includes the institution's archival collections relating to natural and scientific history.
- California Historical SocietyThe CHS collections are a mix of library and archive content, with 50,000 books and 4,000 manuscript collections available for researchers.
- Computer History MuseumThe Computer History Museum is home to the world's largest collection of artifacts related to the history of computing and includes hardware, software, documents, ephemera, photographs and moving images.
- Daivd Rumsey Map Center (Stanford)Archive of David Rumsey's collection of historic and rare maps.
- Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco LibraryResearch resources of the Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco, including the DeYoung Museum and the Palace of the Legion of Honor. Holdings include a complete microfilm collection of the Smithsonian's Archives of American Art.
- Freedom ArchivesCollection of audio and video tapes relating to Bay Area social justice movements from the 1960s through the 1990s.
- GLBT Historical Society ArchivesApproximately 800 collections of personal papers, photographs, audiovisual recordings, and organizational records. All visits are by appointment.
- Hoover Library & Archives (Stanford)6,000 archival collections relating to 20th and 21st century "war, revolution, and peace" at Stanford's Hoover Institution.
- Irish Oral History Project Archive of the SF Bay AreaIrish-American Crossroads aims to produce a comprehensive archive of the life stories of the Irish in the San Francisco Bay Area, representative of all generations of heritage.
- Letterform ArchiveCurated special collections of over 40,000 items related to lettering, typography, calligraphy, and graphic design.
- Maritime Research CenterThe library and archives of the San Francisco Maritime National Historical Park, including over 7,000 archival collections relating to maritime history.
- National Archives at San FranciscoThe holdings of the National Archives at San Francisco include over 70,000 cubic feet of original records dating from the 1850s to the 1980s, with a limited number of records as recent as the early 2000s. The NASF holdings are a primary resource for the study of Asian-Pacific immigration, environmental and natural history, naval and military activity in the Pacific, the American Indian experience, and many other aspects of United States history.
- Oakland History Room (OPL)The Oakland History Room at the main branch of the Oakland Public Library collects books and archival materials related to Oakland and East Bay history.
- Prelinger ArchivesDigitized collection of historic advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur films hosted online by the Internet Archive.
- San Francisco History Center (SFPL)The Daniel E. Koshland San Francisco History Center contains a research collection of books, newspapers and magazines, photographs, maps, posters, archives and manuscript collections, and ephemera, documenting all aspects of San Francisco life and history. The Center is also the archives for the City and County of San Francisco.
- San Francisco Opera ArchivesPhotographs, programs, audio and video recordings, and other ephemera produced by the SF Opera, the oldest extant opera company on the West Coast.
- SFMOMA Library & ArchivesThe SFMOMA Archives collect, preserve, and share museum records, artifacts, and memorabilia. The Archive holds records from the Office of the Director(s), exhibition documentation and photographs, publications, sound and video recordings of events, and more.
- SF State's DIVADigital archive of SFSU collections, including the San Francisco Bay Area Television Archive, the SFSU College Strike Collection, the Poetry Center Digital Archive, the SFSU Museum Collection, and the Paul K. Longmore Institute on Disability Collection.
- Stanford Special Collections & University ArchivesSpecial and archival collections held by the Stanford Libraries.
- UC Berkeley Environmental Design ArchivesArchives and special collections of UC Berkeley's Environmental Design Library, focusing on architects, architecture, and landscape design.
- Western Railway Museum ArchivesThe archives for the Western Railway Museum in Suison City, with corporate documents from a variety of Northern California rail and transit systems, including the Key System and BART.
