Instructional Services Librarian
Welcome to the CCA Libraries guide to researching contemporary art of the Arab world. You will find articles, links to databases, and instructions for citing your sources on this guide. The video below will walk you through some research techniques and resources that will be useful as you conduct online research.
CCA Libraries Search
Use this customized search box to search the digital collections of CCA Libraries.
Recommended Databases
CCA Libraries recommends these databases for the research required in the course Contemporary Art of the Arab World. For more options, please visit our complete list of online databases.
- Art & Architecture Source
Full-text articles and citations from journals and books related to fine, decorative, and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design.
- JSTOR
Scholarly articles from hundreds of journals in a wide range of academic subjects, including art and design.
- Oxford Art Online
Art encyclopedias and dictionaries online, including full-text access to the fundamental Grove Dictionary of Art.
- ProQuest Research Library
"ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics. in all instances."
Featured Articles
- Contemporary Book Art in the Middle East: The Book as Document in IraqFrom the abstract: "Contemporary book art in the Middle East is manifold. After briefly situating it in contemporary art in the Middle East, this essay focuses on the book as document in Iraq."
- Women Challenging the Norms in the Arab Diaspora: Body Talks in Contemporary ArtFrom "Mashriq & Mahjar: Journal of Middle East and North African Migration Studies"
- But a Storm Is Blowing from Paradise: Acquiring Contemporary Art of the Middle East and North AfricaFrom the abstract: "The author describes how she approached acquiring works by artists from the Middle East and North Africa for the Guggenheim during her tenure as the museum's curator."
- Bridging the Gap between Modern and Contemporary Arab Art and Arab PeopleFrom the abstract: "The purpose of this paper is to emphasize the lack of exposure Arabs have to modern and contemporary art that is being created in their region specifically, and to underline the factors that contribute to Arab people’s disjuncture from artistic production in their respective countries."
- Islamic ArtEncyclopedic entry from Grove Art Online.
