Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Visual Studies

This guide will help you with research related to art history and visual culture.

The following websites will help you with your research:

Smarthistory - www.smarthistory.org

An interactive art history website with lectures, video, and images.

Getty Museum - www.getty.edu

The Getty Museum website providing access to the research institute, Getty virtual library, open content program, and current exhibitions.

Metropolitan Museum - www.metmuseum.org

The Metropolitan Museum website with information on exhibitions, collections, and image resources.

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History - http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/

This is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection. 

SFMOMA - Rauschenberg Research Project - http://www.sfmoma.org/explore/collection/project/rauschenberg_research_project

The Rauschenberg Research Project provides free worldwide access to a wealth of scholarly research and documentation relating to artworks by Robert Rauschenberg in SFMOMA's permanent collection.

Smithsonian Institution Archives - http://siarchives.si.edu/

The Archives holds records that document the Smithsonian’s people, events, buildings, and research. 

Archives of American Art - www.aaa.si.edu

"Since 1954, the Archives has collected roughly 16 million letters, photographs, diaries, oral history interviews, sketches, scrapbooks, business records, and other documents that support the study of the history of the visual arts in America." (Description from website)

National Gallery of Art - http://www.nga.gov/content/ngaweb/Collection.html

Browse the National Gallery of Art collection of paintings, sculpture, prints, drawings, photographs, and other works of art From Byzantine altarpieces to pop art.

Library of Congress Digital Collections - http://www.loc.gov/library/libarch-digital.html

Access to print, pictorial and audio-visual collections and other digital services.

Victoria and Albert Museum - http://www.vam.ac.uk/

This museum of art and design provides access to information on current and past exhibitions, collections, images, videos, and more. 

 

Web Resources

Robert Rauschenberg, Sleep for Yvonne Rainer, 1965; mixed media and paper collage with screen print, 84 1/2 in. x 60 1/2 in. x 7 1/4 in. (214.63 cm x 153.67 cm x 18.42 cm); The Doris and Donald Fisher Collection at the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art; © Robert Rauschenberg Foundation / Licensed by VAGA, New York, NY; photo: Ian Reeves.