The Oakland-based 99% Invisible is one of the best podcasts on architecture and design.
The Glass House, by architect Philip Johnson. Photographed by flickr user arwcheek and shared with a Creative Commons license.
Architecture Research Guide
Welcome to the CCA Libraries guide to architectural research. This site helps students and faculty find the resources they need for their academic and creative practices, including links to subscription databases and other research tools. This guide directs you on how to find the best books, articles, design materials, and images, plus examples of how to cite sources in your work. If you have any research questions, ask one of CCA's librarians -- we're here to help.
Research Databases for Architecture
These resources are our best bets for architectural research. They represent just a few of the databases licensed by the CCA Libraries for student, faculty, and staff research. You can also check out our complete list of online resources.
Articles from Journals and Magazines (see more options)
Online Encyclopedias (see more options)
Begin your research by seeking background information about your topic using reference sources (enyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks). Some reference sources are available in print in the CCA Libraries. Other reference resources are available electronically.
Reference sources are helpful. They . . .
- offer introductory information
- define key terms
- help you focus your research topic
Books and Videos (see more options)
Construction Materials (see more options)
Images (see more options)
The following websites offer additional information and resources in Architecture and Interior Design disciplines.
Digital Archives and Collections
Archives and Museums