Calisphere: Over 150,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts.
Center for Creative Photography: The Center for Creative Photography is an archive and research center located on the University of Arizona campus. It retains the archives of Ansel Adams, Edward Weston, Garry Winogrand, Harry Callahan, and other great twentieth-century photographers. The Center is pleased to announce that its collections of photographs by Edward Weston and Ansel Adams are now available on the University of Arizona Institutional Repository.
History of the American West:Collection of over 30,000 photographs of the American West from 1860-1920, drawn from the holdings of the Western History and Genealogy Department at Denver Public Library. Search by keyword or browse by topic.
International Center for Photography (ICP): The eMuseum is a searchable database of ICP's Photography Collection. Because of the large number of works in the collection, not all are currently included in eMuseum. But new items are continually added to the online collection, and records are constantly updated with additional research and texts. In addition to searching eMuseum, you can also create an account and manage your favorite images.
NYPL Digital Gallery: The New York Public Libaray's Photography Collection, Miriam and Ira D. Wallach Division of Art, Prints and Photographs contains over 63,000 digital images.
National Archives: Collection of historical images from the National Archives' Online Exhibits. Includes 20th century photographs and photographers, workplaces of the 19th and 20th centuries, historical panoramic photography, and more. Browse by topic, time period, or search by keyword.
Photomuse: Collaborative project between the George Eastman House and the International Center for Photography (ICP) in New York City. Includes images, exhibitions, and historical info on photography.
Smithsonian Institution Archives: Collection of digital photographs of historic events, as well as displays, objects and artifacts in the Smithsonian collections, offered by the Smithsonian Photographic Services. Search by keyword or browse by category, including American history, the Presidency, and more.
Daguerreotype Portraits and Views 1839-1864: Library of Congress collection consisting of more than 725 photographs dating from 1839 to 1864. Portrait daguerreotypes produced by the Mathew Brady studio make up the major portion of the collection.
The San Francisco Historical Photograph Collection, located in the San Francisco History Center on the 6th floor, contains photographs and works on paper of San Francisco and California views from 1850 to the present (SFPL).
The historic collections of the SFMTA Photography Archives are comprised of tens of thousands of photographic prints and original negatives created by the Municipal Transportation Agency (SFMTA) and its ancestor transit organizations (SFMTA).