Skip to main content

Fine Arts

A guide to print and electronic resources available at CCA Libraries
 Encyclopedias and dictionaries will help you understand the broader context of your research and tell you in general terms what is known about your topic. Reference sources are also a great way to find out about important people, events and related dates to further your research.
 
  • The complete academic encyclopedia, related articles, images, and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.

Oxford Art Online » 

  • The full-text of Grove Dictionary of Art and The Oxford Companion to Western Art, with thousands of images and continuously updated articles on major artists, periods, and styles.

Oxford English Dictionary » 

  • A guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words from across the English-speaking world.

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History - Developed by the Metropolitan Museum of Arts, this resources is a chronological, geographical and thematic tool for learning about art history.


Clara: Database of Women Artists - An interactive database containing authoritative information on 18,000 women visual artists of all time periods and nationalities. The information in Clara® is drawn from the materials in National Museum of Women in the Art's extensive Archives on Women Artists.

Smarthistory - A multimedia, well-organized web-book about art and art history. Smarthistory at Khan Academy is the leading open educational resource for art history.

College Art Association News Archives - You can download full, intact issues of CAA News from Summer 1976 to July 2010 as PDF files.

Keeping the Artist Safe: Hazards of Arts and Crafts Materials - This is a U.S. Department of Health and Human Services website that houses resources for further research. Topics range from product guides to waste management of hazardous substances, and includes Información en Español.

Search for books and other items on the libraries' shelves

Advanced search »