Skip to main content

Photography

A guide to print and electronic resources available at CCA Libraries

Credible Websites

Library of Congress - American Memory

American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning (American Memory).

Library of Congress - Prints and Photographs Collection

Search the Library of Congress' prints and photographs online catalog.

Calisphere – University of California Archive Collections

Calisphere is the University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources. More than 200,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts (Calisphere).

San Francisco Historical Photograph Collection

The San Francisco Historical Photograph Collection, located in the San Francisco History Center on the 6th floor, contains photographs and works on paper of San Francisco and California views from 1850 to the present (SFPL).

San Francisco Municipal Transit Authority (SFMTA) Photography Department & Archive

The historic collections of the SFMTA Photography Archives are comprised of tens of thousands of photographic prints and original negatives created by the Municipal Transportation Agency (SFMTA) and its ancestor transit organizations (SFMTA).

Picture Perfect

Vice magazine's photo documentary channel.

PHOTO8

Foto8 supports photojournalism and connects documentary photographers, authors and audiences creating interactive displays, photography exhibitions, books and magazine publications.

Photolink.net

Web Resources

Dorothea Lange. Migrant Mother, Nipomo, 1936. Oakland Museum of California, Source: Calisphere.