Skip to main content

Fine Arts

A guide to print and electronic resources available at CCA Libraries

Research Databases

Find articles from magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and trade journals. (When accessing off campus, you will be asked to input your CCA log-in credentials). 

  • Art & Architecture Source
    • The definitive resource for the study of art and architecture; Art  & Architecture Source covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative, and commercial art relevant to architecture and architectural design.
  • Art Bibliographies Modern
    • Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century to the present day.
  • Design & Applied Arts Index
    • A source of information for all aspects of design and crafts, from textiles and ceramics to vehicle design, advertising and sustainability. Provides citations and abstracts on items from 1973 to the present.
  • JSTOR
    • Contains articles from hundreds of scholarly journals covering a wide range of subjects in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    • Search full-text documents from over 15,000 credible sources of information on critical news, legal, and business topics.
  • OmniFile Full Text
    • A full-text only database with materials for research across all disciplines.
  • Oxford Art Online
    • The full-text of Grove Dictionary of Art and the Oxford Companion to Western Art, with thousands of images and continuously updated articles on major artists, periods, and styles.
  • The Wood Engravers Network is the site for people interested in engraving, whether it is on wood or Resingrave. They host a yearly conference, publish a biennial newsletter and sponsor print exchanges.
  • SAGA (Society of American Graphic Artists)  located in New York city SAGA has a membership which practices a full range of printmaking processes. SAGA sponsors national and international exhibitions, demonstrations and symposiums, and issues a newsletter. 
  • Printinteresting.org an online resource presenting a range of content relevant to the contemporary print artist, including artwork, news, resources, and critical discourse to keep abreast of developments in the field
  • Print Council of America is a professional organization of print specialists
  • Contemporary Printmaking Online Database, created through Bowling Green State University, is free to join and free to access. Their purpose is to provide one key site that makes the work of professional printmakers accessible for research and teaching purposes, as well as being available to curators, gallery directors, art consultants, and the general public.
  • The California Society of Printmakers is the second oldest printmaking society in the United States and the largest. The Society sponsors exhibitions on a local and national level; carries out educational activities; and publishes a journal, The California Printmaker.