Skip to main content

Fine Arts

A guide to print and electronic resources available at CCA Libraries

Research Databases

Find articles from magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and trade journals. (When accessing off campus, you will be asked to input your CCA log-in credentials).

  • Art & Architecture Source
    • The definitive resource for the study of art and architecture; Art & Architecture Source covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative, and commercial art relevant to architecture and architectural design.
  • Art Bibliographies Modern
    • Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century to the present day.
  • Design & Applied Arts Index
    • A source of information for all aspects of design and crafts, from textiles and ceramics to vehicle design, advertising and sustainability. Provides citations and abstracts on items from 1973 to the present.
  • JSTOR
    • Contains articles from hundreds of scholarly journals covering a wide range of subjects in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    • Search full-text documents from over 15,000 credible sources of information on critical news, legal, and business topics.
  • OmniFile Full Text
    • A full-text only database with materials for research across all disciplines.
  • Oxford Art Online
    • The full-text of Grove Dictionary of Art and the Oxford Companion to Western Art, with thousands of images and continuously updated articles on major artists, periods, and styles.
  • Embroiderers’ Guild -- The Embroiderers’ Guild’s remit is to build awareness of stitch and textile art. They educate, encourage, inspire, and promote the achievement of excellence.
  • Textile Artist -- aims "to become the number one online resource and community for artists working with textile techniques as well as textile art enthusiasts. TextileArtist.org is a place to be inspired, learn from the best, promote your work and reach other creatively-minded people.” 
  • Textile Museum -- The Textile Museum is an institution with a nearly one-hundred year history, an established audience, and a respected collection of textile art representing six continents and five millennia.
  • The Textile Society -- The Textile Society is a unique forum for textile professionals and enthusiasts. It promotes the study of textile disciplines and celebrates the history and culture of textiles, both traditional and contemporary.
  • Textiles Collection (from VADS) – online collection of historic textiles from the University for the Creative Arts at Farnham.
  • V & A Textiles Collection – the Victoria and Albert Museum’s textile collection available online.