Skip to main content

Fine Arts

A guide to print and electronic resources available at CCA Libraries

Click on the links below to search for issues of these journals:

Church monuments 

Fine woodworking

NSS news bulletin  

Sculpture

Sculpture journal  

Sculpture review  

Research Databases

Find articles from magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and trade journals. (When accessing off campus, you will be asked to input your CCA log-in credentials). 

  • Art & Architecture Source
    • The definitive resource for the study of art and architecture; Art & Architecture Source covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative, and commercial art relevant to architecture and architectural design.
  • Art Bibliographies Modern
    • Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century to the present day.
  • Design & Applied Arts Index
    • A source of information for all aspects of design and crafts, from textiles and ceramics to vehicle design, advertising and sustainability. Provides citations and abstracts on items from 1973 to the present.
  • JSTOR
    • Contains articles from hundreds of scholarly journals covering a wide range of subjects in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    • Search full-text documents from over 15,000 credible sources of information on critical news, legal, and business topics.
  • OmniFile Full Text
    • A full-text only database with materials for research across all disciplines.
  • Oxford Art Online
    • The full-text of Grove Dictionary of Art and the Oxford Companion to Western Art, with thousands of images and continuously updated articles on major artists, periods, and styles.
  • Sculptor.org is an online sales site for the Penn Group, but their “Resources for Sculptors” page aims to provide support for professional sculptors including  over 400 pages of resources and tools, and 16,000 external links.
  • National Sculpture Society The National Sculpture Society is the oldest organization of professional sculptors in the United States. It is master sculptors and architects like Daniel Chester French, Augustus St. Gaudens, Richard Morris Hunt, and Stanford White, who founded the NSS in 1893 and have comprised its active membership since.
  • Sculptors Guilda nonprofit organization of professional artists, was founded in 1937 to provide free exhibitions of contemporary sculpture.  Its members, chosen on the basis of excellence, work in a variety of aesthetic perspectives techniques, and materials. 
  • Golden State Sculptors Association - The Golden State Sculptors Association is a non-profit corporation organized in 1986 to support sculptors and to provide education to the public about the sculptural arts. Our goal is to provide support to sculptors and to the community by offering workshops, demonstrations, competitions, exhibitions, publications and networking for the benefit of the membership and other interested individuals.