Skip to main content

Fine Arts

A guide to print and electronic resources available at CCA Libraries

Research Databases

You can use databases to find articles from magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and trade journals. (When accessing the databases from off campus, you will be asked to input your CCA credentials). 

  • Art & Architecture Source
    • The definitive resource for the study of art and architecture; Art & Architecture Source covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative, and commercial art relevant to architecture and architectural design.
  • Art Bibliographies Modern
    • Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century to the present day.
  • Design & Applied Arts Index
    • A source of information for all aspects of design and crafts, from textiles and ceramics to vehicle design, advertising and sustainability. Provides citations and abstracts on items from 1973 to the present.
  • JSTOR
    • Contains articles from hundreds of scholarly journals covering a wide range of subjects in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    • Search full-text documents from over 15,000 credible sources of information on critical news, legal, and business topics.
  • OmniFile Full Text
    • A full-text only database with materials for research across all disciplines.
  • Oxford Art Online
    • The full-text of Grove Dictionary of Art and the Oxford Companion to Western Art, with thousands of images and continuously updated articles on major artists, periods, and styles.
  • Clay Times -- Reference articles from Clay Times that cover all aspects of pottery making including: Forming Techniques, Glazing, Health and Safety, Marketing and Business, and Studio Maintenance.
  • Ceramic Arts Education -- Ceramic resources for clay and glaze recipes, how-to videos, charts, handouts, and many useful tips for throwing, handbuilding, firing, and glazing. Ceramic
  • CeramicsWeb -- Richard Burkett has compiled an extensive amount of ceramics information: databases of glaze recipes and material analyses, links to other ceramics web sites, health and safety information, and a variety of educational materials related to ceramics.
  • The American Ceramic Society -- Provides the latest technical, scientific and educational information to members and others in the ceramics field. Includes a ceramic knowledge center.
  • Glass Arts Society -- An international non-profit organization to advance the appreciation, understanding and development of the glass arts worldwide.
  • Corning Museum of Glass -- The Corning Museum of Glass actively researches, publishes, and provides lectures about a broad range of glass topics. The museum hosts The Rakow Research Library, which houses the world’s most comprehensive collection of materials on the art and history of glass and glassmaking
  • Urban Glass – publishes Glass magazine.