Skip to main content

Fine Arts

A guide to print and electronic resources available at CCA Libraries

Click on the links below to search these title in Journal Finder:

Animation magazine  

Animation studies

Animation xpress

International journal of comic art  

Mechademia

Thinking Animation - great resource for learning more about stop motion, computer-generated animation, and much more. The bloggers are all intimately involved in animation themselves; learn from the experts.

Animation Blogspot - free blogging community for all things animation

Animation Insider - provides reviews of various animation features and has an active community forum

Animated Writing - a variety of animation topics for the novice or experienced animator

The Lynda Online Training Library's instructional videos are available to current CCA students, faculty, and staff. Below are playlists (curated sets of tutorials) for particular courses. You must "subscribe" to the playlist to view it properly.

Research Databases

You can use databases to find articles from magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and trade journals. (When accessing the databases from off campus, you will be asked to input your CCA credentials). 

  • Art & Architecture Source
    • The definitive resource for the study of art and architecture; Art & Architecture Source covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative, and commercial art relevant to architecture and architectural design.
  • Design & Applied Arts Index
    • A source of information for all aspects of design and crafts, from textiles and ceramics to vehicle design, advertising and sustainability. Provides citations and abstracts on items from 1973 to the present.
  • Film Literature Index
    • Provides approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    • Search full-text documents from over 15,000 credible sources of information on critical news, legal, and business topics.
  • Oxford Art Online
    • The full-text of Grove Dictionary of Art and the Oxford Companion to Western Art, with thousands of images and continuously updated articles on major artists, periods, and styles.