Research Guides: Architecture: Find Images

Using JSTOR Images (formerly ARTstor)

The CCA Libraries subscribe to JSTOR Images, the premier image database for art and design research. It contains over two million high-resolution images contributed by museums, archives, universities, and libraries. Every image has corresponding data about the creator, materials used, and location of the original.

To download images, individual users need to create a free JSTOR account. Our institutional subscription allows CCA faculty, students, and staff to use JSTOR images (with proper attribution) for educational purposes such as research papers, presentations, and lectures.

Artstor
High-resolution digital images for the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. As of 2024, all Artstor content is now hosted on JSTOR.

A digital library of more than two million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for teaching and research. The collections include contributions from international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists -- including CCA.

Historic American Buildings Survey, Library of Congress
The HABS documents achievements in architecture, engineering, and landscape design in the United States through a comprehensive range of building types, engineering technologies, and landscapes.
Calisphere
Digital image library managed by the University of California, collecting images from universities, colleges, and museums around the state.
Metropolitan Museum of New York
Images from the Met's vast collections of art and photography.

VAULT

Student exhibitions, CCA College Archives, Special Collections of rare and unique materials, and Public Lecture Series recordings.

Students can also upload their work to VAULT, while faculty are expected to upload their syllabi at the start of each term.